Top Crop Manager

FFCO elects new board of directors

April 29, 2024  By Farm & Food Care Ontaro

Farm & Food Care Ontario (FFCO) has chosen its 2024-2025 board executive. Re-elected to the Farm & Food Care Ontario board executive are:

  • Crispin Colvin, nominated by the Ontario Federation of Agriculture (chair)
  • Janelle Cardiff, nominated by Egg Farmers of Ontario (vice-chair)
  • Jennifer Mitchell, nominated by Ontario Canola Growers (second vice-chair)
  • John Taylor, nominated by Ontario Mutual Insurance Association (treasurer)

Joining the executive are:

  • Kelly Gubesch, nominated by Wallenstein Feed & Supply Ltd. and Maple Leaf Foods
  • Joe Hickson, nominated by Ontario Seed Growers’ Association
  • Steve Lake, nominated by Grain Farmers of Ontario
  • Quintin McEwen, nominated by Ontario Sheep Farmers
  • Pete Overdevest, nominated by Dairy Farmers of Ontario (ex-officio)
  • Nadine Schwandt, nominated by New-Life Mills, a division of Parrish & Heimbecker, Ltd. (newly elected)
  • Nicki Scott, Ontario nominated by the Ontario Fruit & Vegetable Growers’ Association, and Ontario Potato Board
  • Joost van der Heiden, nominated by Beef Farmers of Ontario (newly elected)
  • Andrea Veldhuizen, nominated by Chicken Farmers of Ontario

Retiring directors Mark Hamel, who joined the board in 2022 representing Dairy Farmers of Ontario, and Jason Leblond, from Beef Farmers of Ontario, who joined the board in an ex-officio role in 2020, were thanked for their years of service and commitment to the organization.


Also recognized was retiring director Bonnie den Haan. Bonnie joined the FFCO board in 2018, first nominated by Dairy Farmers of Ontario and then by Sheldon Creek Dairy. Bonnie started as a director and then served as chair from 2021-2023, helping steer the organization through the complicated days of the pandemic.


Stories continue below