Top Crop Manager

Six individuals being inducted into Sask Ag Hall of Fame

July 30, 2014 - Six individuals will be officially inducted into the Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame on Saturday, August 2 in Saskatoon.

The honorees include:

  • Gary Jones - a long-time leader, advocate and innovator within the cattle industry of Saskatchewan and Canada.
  • Dale Montgomery - one of Canada's most revered stock dog handlers, teaching stockmanship across Saskatchewan and around North America.
  • Elvin Haupstein - over a 50-year time span served in various capacities on farm organizations that represented the ever-evolving Saskatchewan dairy industry.
  • Alex Kennedy - from the Little Pine First Nation north of Cut Knife, he has played a leading role in the development and advancement of agriculture on reserve lands.
  • Guy Lafond - over 30 years with Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada at the Indian Head Research Farm, he had a major impact on cropping practices and soil conservation in Saskatchewan and internationally.
  • Dave Sefton - long time farmer from near Broadview, he has had a leading role in many farm organizations that have made a difference in the rural economy and in the lives of farmers.

Elvin Haupstein and Guy Lafond are being inducted posthumously.


July 30, 2014  By Top Crop Manager


Stories continue below