Top Crop Manager

Features Agronomy Other Crops
Seed of the Year -West: AC Metcalfe

Oct. 27, 2010 -AC Metcalfe, a two-row malting barley, has been chosen Seed of the Year -West, with congratulations to Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada barley breeder Dr. Bill Legge and his research team at Brandon, Manitoba, as well as the Cereal Reserach Centre in Winnipeg.

October 28, 2010  By Seed of the Year

Oct. 27, 2010

Seed of the Year is proud to announce AC Metcalfe, a two-row malting barley variety, as the winner of Seed of the Year -West. Congratulations go out to Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada Barley

Breeder Dr. Bill Legge and the research team in Brandon and at the Cereal Research Centre in Winnipeg responsible for AC Metcalfe. AC Metcalfe received full registration in 1997, and was an


advance in agronomic, disease resistance and quality traits in a two-row malting barley variety. AC Metcalfe is used in multiple end-use markets and is known for its consistency, high enzyme levels,

rapid throughput in the malthouse, and high levels of fermentable extract. Maltsters and brewers throughout the world demand the quality of AC Metcalfe for their products.

"AC Metcalfe came into the marketplace at a good time when the industry was willing to consider
shifting away from Harrington to new varieties. AC Metcalfe combined excellent malting quality with stronger straw and higher yield than Harrington. Its improved disease resistance allowed it to be grown over a wider area in western Canada with less risk." noted Dr. Legge.

"The continued dominance of AC Metcalfe as Canada's flagship two row malting barley variety
clearly demonstrates the outstanding characteristics of this variety. AC Metcalfe has made a huge

impact on the barley industry both for producers and processors and is the reason I felt it should be honored as Seed of the Year." said Jim Downey who nominated AC Metcalfe.

Seed of the Year is designed to provide recognition to publicly developed varieties that have made a
significant contribution to the economy, agriculture, and the Canadian public in general. Although

the name, Seed of the Year, indicates the contribution in a particular year, the program is much broader reaching and considers total lifetime achievement and contribution. It is important to recognize the value of our public plant breeding programs, as well as encourage the entry of new plant breeders to the industry.

Part of the western award is a scholarship for $4000 that is awarded to a student enrolled in a
western Canadian university and currently completing a Masters or Ph.D. in plant breeding or genetics. Dr. Legge will now be asked to review and select the scholarship award winner. The scholarship aspect contributes to the education of a new generation of plant breeders.

Seed of the Year would also like to acknowledge its sponsors: Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada,
Alberta Barley Commission, Canterra Seeds, Cargill, Canadian Wheat Board, Parrish & Heimbecker Limited, Canadian Seed Growers Association, Viterra, Richardson International, SeCan, and Western Grains Research Foundation. We also wish to thank the judges and other applicants who applied.

For more information on Seed of the Year, as well as application forms for next year, please visit


Stories continue below