Top Crop Manager

Quebec City hosts Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmers 2014 national event

Oct. 22, 2014, Ancaster, ON – Seven entrepreneurial farm couples from across Canada vie for top recognition as Canada's Outstanding Young Farmers (OYF) at the organization's annual event in Quebec City, QC on Friday, November 28.

These regional honourees have been chosen from their home regions, and will present highlights of their operations at the national event. Bringing together OYF alumni and the larger agricultural industry, OYF's event includes a special forum, and concludes with a gala banquet to announce Canada's 2014 national OYF winners.

Honourees presenting for the 2014 event include: Andrew and Heidi Lawless, Kinkora, PEI (potato/grain/hay producers); Jason and Amanda O'Connell, Carleton Place, ON (dairy/cash crop producers); Bruno Soucy and Hélène St-Pierre, Saint-Édouard-de-Lotbinière, QC (dairy/pork/cash crop producers); Myron and Jill Krahn, Carmen, MB (grain & seed production/seed retail); Aaron and Adrienne Ivey, Ituna, SK (mixed cattle & grain producers); Richard and Nicole Brousseau, St. Paul, AB (dairy producers); and Lydia Ryall, Delta, BC (mixed vegetable producer). Two of these regional winners will be chosen as Canada's Outstanding Young Farmers for 2014.

Pre-registration is required to attend the OYF event, which is being held at the Quebec City Conference Centre – forum/lunch/presentations are $60 per person, presentations/gala and show are $90 per person, and forum/lunch/presentations/gala and show are $120 per person. Ticket prices do not include applicable tax and can be ordered at

Celebrating 34 years, Canada's Outstanding Young Farmers' program is an annual competition to recognize farmers that exemplify excellence in their profession and promote the tremendous contribution of agriculture. Open to participants 18 to 39 years of age, making the majority of income from on-farm sources, participants are selected from seven regions across Canada, with two national winners chosen each year. The program is sponsored nationally by CIBC, John Deere, Bayer CropScience, and Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada. The national media sponsor is Annex Media, and the program is supported nationally by AdFarm, BDO and Farm Management Canada.



October 23, 2014  By Top Crop Manager


Stories continue below