Top Crop Manager

News Business & Policy Future planning
Members of Indigenous Agriculture Advisory Committee revealed

June 7, 2022  By Top Crop Manager

The Canadian Agricultural Human Resource Council (CAHRC) has unveiled the membership of its Indigenous Agricultural Advisory Committee.

The committee consists of representatives from across the Indigenous agriculture sector and the country. The committee will work with the CAHRC to advise on the development of research and programming to promote Indigenous participation in all areas of agriculture. Guided by the Seven Grandfathers Teachings, the committee’s objectives in conjunction with the CAHRC’s are to:

  • Guide work related to supporting workforce development in Indigenous agriculture;
  • Advise CAHRC on engagement, research and tool development related to skill development in Indigenous agriculture; and
  • Provide an Indigenous lens to CAHRC’s work.

Among other projects, the committee’s voice and input will be crucial for the development of the recently announced National Workforce Strategic Plan for the Agriculture and Food and Beverage Manufacturing Sectors.


“With thousands of years of history as nurturers and protectors of the land, active participation in agriculture is a natural fit for Indigenous people,” said Dale Worme, chair of the advisory committee, in a statement. “In addition, First Nations are eager to harness the opportunities available in agriculture to grow their communities and improve the livelihoods of their people.”

Members of the committee are:

  • Dale Worme (chair), National Indigenous Agriculture Association (NIAA);
  • Dawn Tabobondung (vice- chair), First Nations Growers Canada;
  • E.J. (Elmer) Fontaine, Cedar Lake Ranch;
  • Trevor Kempthorne, First Nations Agriculture Association BC;
  • Harold Aljam, First Nations Agriculture Association BC;
  • Paul Langdon, Ulnooweg, Nova Scotia;
  • Sonny Gray, Northstar Agriculture Inc., Whitehorse , Yukon;
  • Stephanie Cook, OCN Smart Farm;
  • Marguerite Parker, Aboriginal Aquaculture Association;
  • Carlon Big Snake, Siksika Nation; and
  • Ken Bear, Pasqua First Nation.


Stories continue below