Top Crop Manager

FCC seeks to honour outstanding women in agriculture

Nov. 22, 2012, Regina, SK – Farm Credit Canada (FCC) is now accepting nominations for the 2013 FCC Rosemary Davis Award, which recognizes and honours Canadian women for their leadership and commitment to agriculture.

Agriculture is a vibrant and dynamic industry and women are contributing to its success through positive action and community service. FCC wants to recognize five women who deserve recognition for their achievements. Past nominees range from producers and educators to agrologists and veterinarians.

"Women continue to have a pivotal leadership role in advancing the agriculture and agri-food industry," says Kellie Garrett, Senior Vice-President, Strategy, Knowledge and Reputation at FCC. "FCC is pleased to recognize exceptional leaders that distinguish themselves by showing commitment to our industry and devotion to their local communities."

Individuals are encouraged to take time to recognize a woman who is making a difference in the agriculture industry. Self-nominations are also encouraged. Candidates are selected based on their demonstration of leadership – through giving back to their community and the agriculture industry – as well as their vision and passion for the industry. Since 2006, FCC has honoured 30 outstanding women with the Rosemary Davis Award.

Created and named after a successful Canadian agribusiness owner and operator – and the first female chair of the FCC Board of Directors – the FCC Rosemary Davis Award is testament to the growing number of women who are choosing to make a career in agriculture.

Winners will be announced in March 2013. They will have the opportunity to attend the Simmons School of Management Leadership Conference in Boston on April 2, 2013 (

"By attending this conference, winners of the award will have the unique opportunity to network and share knowledge," says Garrett. "They will also have the chance to hear from some of the most respected women in the world who, just like them, decided to make a difference in their communities and the global village."

FCC Rosemary Davis winners must be 21 years of age or older and actively involved in Canadian agriculture. Entries will only be received online at The deadline to apply is 11:59 p.m. (Central Standard Time) on January 15, 2013. Nominees who applied but did not win in previous years are encouraged to reapply.

For more information, call 1-888-332-3301 or email

November 22, 2012  By FCC


Stories continue below