Top Crop Manager

Features Business & Policy Business Management
Changes to the Alberta Canola Producers board of directors

The 28th Annual General Meeting of the Alberta Canola Producers Commission was held January 30 at the FarmTech Conference in Edmonton. Following the Annual General Meeting, the board elected Renn Breitkreuz from Onoway as the new chair, and John Guelly of Westlock as the new vice-chair.

Alberta Canola is pleased to welcome two new directors to the Board:

  • Andre Harpe of Valhalla Centre, replacing Greg Sears in region 2
  • Ian Chitwood of Airdrie, replacing Steve Marshman in region 8
The board of Alberta Canola would like to thank outgoing directors Greg Sears and Steve Marshman for all the hard work they have done on behalf of Alberta’s canola farmers.

Greg joined the Board in 2012 and held many positions including Alberta representative to the Canola Council of Canada. Greg was chair for the last two years and the board has greatly appreciated his steady hand at the helm and his unflappable demeanor.

Steve joined the Board in 2015 and represented farmers’ interests at the Clean Air Strategic Alliance. Steve brought a wealth of business experience to the board and this will be missed.

Both Greg and Steve were also heavily involved in presenting farmers’ opinions to the Alberta government during Bill 6 consultations.

Visit for more information on the board of directors, the committees that guide the board, and Alberta Canola’s regions.

Join Top Crop Manager Feb. 27 and 28 in Saskatoon, Sask., for the 2018 Herbicide Resistance Summit - Register now!

February 7, 2018  By Top Crop Manager

Dale Uglem


Stories continue below