Top Crop Manager

Appointments to the Alberta Grains Council

June 17, 2013, Edmonton, AB - The Alberta Grains Council has two new members: Henry Vos and Ron Markert.

Henry Vos farms in the Fairview area where he has operated a grain and seed farm for 30 years. Henry's experience with industry organizations and boards is extensive and spans many years, but a few of his more recent involvements include serving as a director of the Canadian Wheat Board, Vice Chair of the Canadian International Grains Institute (CIGI), and as a member of the Alberta Feed Grain Initiative. Henry was also a director of the Alberta Agricultural Research Institute, and a director of the Canadian Seed Institute. Henry holds a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture from the University of Alberta.

Ron Markert has been farming in the Vulcan area since 1972. Ron operates Markert Seeds Ltd., a pedigree seed business which grows, processes and retails pedigreed seed. In addition to farming, Ron has vast experience in the agriculture industry. Ron served as President of the Alberta Seed Growers Association and President of SeedNet Inc. Ron currently sits on the Prairie Grain Development Committee, specifically on the Recommending Committee for Wheat, Rye and Triticale. Ron holds a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture from the University of Alberta.

The mission of the Alberta Grains Council is to provide strategic and tactical advice to the Minister and appropriate groups who are able to impact the long-term profitability and sustainability of the grains and oilseeds industry.

The other members of the AGC are:

  • Greg Porozni - Willingdon- Farmer (Chair)
  • D'Arcy Hilgartner - Camrose - Farmer (Vice Chair)
  • Dennis Nanninga - Barrhead - Farmer
  • Stew Gilroy - Camrose - Farmer
  • Gerard Oosterhuis - Bow Island - Farmer
  • Ed Lefsrud - Viking - Farmer
  • Dave Burdek - Department Member
  • Sean Royer - Department Member

June 17, 2013  By Alberta Agriculture and Rural Development


Stories continue below