Top Crop Manager

Alberta Wheat Commission Prepares for Regional Elections

November 15, 2012, Calgary, AB – The Alberta Wheat Commission’s inaugural call for nominations for Regional Directors is now closed. The following Directors will be declared elected by acclamation at their respective regional meetings later this month:

Region 1                           Region 2                            Region 4                              Region 5
Lynn Jacobson                   Kevin Auch                         Ron Kuhn                            Ron Heck
Gary Stanford                    Ron Nerland                       Greg Porozni                      Henry Vos

Three candidates filed nomination papers in Region 3. Eligible producers in attendance at the Region 3 meeting on November 30 in Red Deer will cast their votes to select two Directors from among the following nominees:

Kent Erickson (Irma)       Tom Jackson (Killam)      Terry Young (Lacombe)

The Commission will also be calling for nominations from the floor for up to three (3) Regional Representatives at each of the following regional meetings:

Region 2                                              Region 4                                              Region 5
Strathmore, November 19           Vermilion, November 22              Fairview, November 16

Elections of three Regional Representatives per region will also take place at the regional meetings in Lethbridge on November 21 (Region 1) and in Red Deer on November 30 (Region 3). The following candidates in each region filed their nomination papers by the deadline:

Region 1                                              Region 3
Josh Fankhauser                              Michael Ammeter           Jason Olsen
Jacob Kodde                                      Harold Haugen                  Trevor Petersen
Scott Lehr                                            Jason Lenz
Stephen Vandervalk                                                                                      

Wayne Tuck of Vegreville will officially be declared elected by acclamation as the Regional Representative for Region 4 at the regional meeting in Vermilion on November 22.

The Alberta Wheat Commission wishes to thank all the producers who put their names forward to represent their regions and serve the organization.

November 16, 2012  By Alberta Wheat Commission


Stories continue below