Top Crop Manager

Features Agronomy Cereals
Alberta Wheat Commission names board of directors

Jan. 30, 2013, Edmonton, AB - At its inaugural Annual General Meeting on Monday, the Alberta Wheat Commission (AWC), Canada's first and only provincial all-wheat commission, announced its 2013 Board of Directors, including new Chair Kent Erickson of Irma (Region 3) and new Vice-Chair, Henry Vos of Fairview (Region 5).

"I'm honoured to take on the chairmanship of the Alberta Wheat Commission in what is a defining time for our industry," says Kent Erickson. "Alberta's wheat farmers are affected as much as any by the economic climate and our role as a producer-led organization is to invest in and advance the research, market development and leadership initiatives that will allow them to deliver to their full potential."

Erickson and Vos are joined on the Board by the following Directors:

Region 1
Lynn Jacobson, Enchant
Gary Stanford, Magrath

Region 2
Ron Nerland, Morrin
Kevin Auch, Carmangay

Region 3
Terry Young, Lacombe

Region 4
Ron Kuhn, Fort Saskatchewan
Greg Porozni, Mundare

Region 5
Ron Heck, Fairview

Director-at-Large, Kevin Bender from Bentley, was elected by acclamation at Monday's AGM.

As a producer-funded, producer-governed commission, the AWC's mandate is to increase the long term profitability of Alberta's wheat farmers through funding innovative research, market development and promotional activities, producer education programs, and policy development.


January 30, 2013  By Alberta Wheat Commission


Stories continue below